Dreds Day 25 ~~ Reboot #1

So it’s day 25 with the dreds, and time for a “reboot”, which is another trip to the dred-dresser to clean up the messy look.  Here’s day 23:IMG_6224

 

Lots of messy — going every which way.  Some of the dreds had fallen out completely and I was twisting them and anchoring with a small rubber band.  Lots of fly-aways too.  Oh my!

Here’s what happened today:

 

Properly retwisting my hair and weaving pieces throughout.  It took 3 hours to do these twists, thanks to the ultra-patient Corrine.  Some with a soft head may think this hurts, but I really didn’t think it was too bad.  I think I just like having my hair played with, for whatever reason.  It’s now up in a ponytail where it will stay a day or two.  I also bought a du-rag to keep it covered all night, rather than the half the night the bandana was lasting, which will mean less jostling of my hair through the night.

Young man and I are off to Ecuador in 5 days and I am hoping my hair really begins to lock. If not, I am armed with a crochet hook and just enough knowledge to be trouble, I think.  I may be rebooting my dreds a bit on the road.

Do you have dreds?  How long did it take before yours really locked in?  Any tips for me?

Leave a Reply

